19 may, 2011 15:59  

Born September 17, 1956 in Arashan village, Alamedun District, Chui

Region (Ethnicity: Kyrghyz).


1980: Graduated from the Moscow Academy of Management with a degree in engineering and economy, and production management.


1980-1981: Engineer at the Ministry of Communications of the Kyrgyz Soviet Socialist Republic.

1981-1983: Chief Engineer with Road Maintenance Department in the city of Frunze.

1983-1987: a staff member of the Presidium of the Supreme Soviet of the Kyrgyz Soviet Socialist Republic.

1987-1989: Deputy Chairman of the Pervomaisky District’s Executive Committee in Frunze.

1989: Founded a research and production company Forum.

1993: Founded and became the chairman of the Social Democratic Party of Kyrgyzstan.

1995-2000: Deputy of the Jogorku Kenesh (Assembly of People's Representatives) of Kyrgyzstan.

1997-2005: Kyrgyzavtomash General Director and Chairman of the Directors’ Board.

2005 (March): One of the organisers of the Bishkek riots that led to Askar Akayev’s resignation.

2005 (September 13-30): Kyrgyzstan’s Acting Minister of Economic Development, Industry, and Trade.

2005 (September 30 to April 24, 2006): Minister of Industry, Trade, and Tourism.

- Resigned due to differences with Kurmanbek Bakiyev’s policy,

- Became president of Kyrgyzavtomash Corporation.

2006 (July): Chairman of Board of Directors’ at Sary-Dzhaz-Energo, a builder of hydroelectric power stations at the Sary-Dzhaz River.  

2007 (March-November): Prime Minister of Kyrgyzstan.

2008: a member of the leadership of the United People’s Movement of Kyrgyzstan, from September 2009 – chairman of the movement.

2009 (July): Presidential candidate, representing the united opposition (received 7% of votes).

2010 (April): Helped initiate oppositional protest that led to the resignation of Kurmanbek Bakiyev.

2010 (April-July): First Vice Chairman of the Provisional Government.

2010 (November): Deputy in the Jogorku Kenesh (national parliament).

2010 (December 17): Elected Prime Minister of the Kyrgyz Republic. On December 20, Roza Otunbaeva, President of the Kyrgyz Republic of the transitional period, signed the relevant decree.